RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026 - 1250 Posts, Apply now
Railway Recruitment Boards (RRB), Indian Railways
Railway Recruitment Boards (RRB), Indian Railways invited applications for RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026 - 1250 Posts, Apply now, with 1,250 vacancies, for candidates with Any Graduate qualification. Eligible candidates can apply online before 2026-11-25.
- Salary
- ₹35,400
- Age limit
- Not specified
- Vacancies
- 1,250
- Last date
- 2026-11-25
Eligibility
Candidates need a graduate degree in any stream, with age counted as on 1 January 2027; the short notice does not give the age limit or the full qualification rules, and sources disagree on the age band, so the detailed CEN 08/2026 must be checked.
Selection Process
Computer Based Test (CBT), Computer Based Aptitude Test (CBAT), Document Verification and Medical Examination; whether the CBT has one stage or two, and the CBAT shortlisting ratio, are reported differently and need confirming in the detailed notice.
The Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) have released a short (indicative) notice, CEN 08/2026, for about 1,250 tentative Station Master posts at Pay Level 6. Graduates can apply online from 27 October to 25 November 2026, 11:59 PM. The detailed notification with age, fee and medical rules had not been seen when this was written, so several details below need confirming.
Who Should Apply
- Station Master (about 1,250 tentative posts) — graduate in any stream, Pay Level 6
Station Master is no longer part of the NTPC recruitment. One tracker reports the RRBs said it would be recruited separately from 2026 onwards, and CEN 08/2026 is that separate notice. Do not confuse it with the NTPC Graduate or Under Graduate notices.
Eligibility & Age Limit
The source and several trackers say the qualification is a graduate degree in any stream. The age is counted as on 1 January 2027.
The age limit is not confirmed. The source article says 18 to 33 years for Unreserved candidates. Two other sites say 20 to 30 years with 3 years' relaxation for OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) and 5 years for SC/ST. One tracker says the short notice itself gives no age limits or qualification. [check] Do not rely on any age band until the detailed CEN is published.
The source also lists relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC-NCL, 10/13/15 years for PwBD (Unreserved/OBC-NCL/SC-ST) and as per Government policy for ex-servicemen. These match the standard RRB pattern but are not confirmed for this notice. [check] Once you know the date rules, you can check your exact age as on the cut-off date.
See every current Any Graduate opening.
Salary & Pay Scale
Station Master is at 7th CPC Pay Level 6, which starts at ₹35,400 per month basic pay, plus Dearness Allowance and Railway allowances. The source gives only "Level 6". The ₹35,400 figure is the standard starting pay for that level. [check] Confirm it in the detailed notice.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Short (Indicative) Notice | 21 October 2026 (one site says the notice is printed 24 October) |
| Online Application Start | 27 October 2026 |
| Online Application Close | 25 November 2026, 11:59 PM |
| Age Reckoning Date | 1 January 2027 |
| CBT Date | To be announced |
The portal is not open yet. It opens on 27 October 2026.
Application Fee
The source lists ₹250 (fully refundable) for PwBD, SC, ST, Female and EBC candidates and ₹500 (₹400 refundable) for others. This is identical to the fee in the RRB NTPC Under Graduate notice, and I found no confirmation of it for Station Master. One tracker says the short notice does not state a fee. [check] Do not pay until the fee is published in the detailed notice.
How to Apply
- Go to the Railway Recruitment Board application portal, https://www.rrbapply.gov.in/, from 27 October 2026.
- Open the Careers page and find CEN 08/2026 — Station Master, and read the detailed notification first.
- Register or log in, fill in your details and upload what is asked.
- Pay the fee online and submit before 25 November 2026, 11:59 PM.
[check] The source gives no photo or signature rules, and its "short notice" link is a Google Drive copy, not an official page. Use only the RRB portal.
How Are Candidates Selected
The reports agree on four stages, but not on every detail:
Computer Based Test (CBT): Reports differ on whether it is a single-stage CBT or two stages (CBT 1 and CBT 2). One tracker says it covers mathematics, general intelligence and reasoning, and general awareness. [check] Subjects, marks, duration and negative marking are not in the source.
Computer Based Aptitude Test (CBAT): A mandatory aptitude test for shortlisted candidates. One tracker says the shortlist is 8 times the vacancies and the final merit is 70% CBT and 30% CBAT. [check] Confirm this in the detailed notice.
Document Verification and Medical Examination: Candidates who clear the earlier stages go through certificate checks and a medical fitness test. The medical standard is to be given in the detailed notice.
Why This Job Matters
Station Masters run train operations at stations, including signalling instructions and train movements, so the role is central to railway safety. At Pay Level 6 it is one of the better paid graduate-entry railway posts, and the post now has its own recruitment notice instead of sitting inside NTPC.
The FreshersLike Take
Best fit: A graduate in any stream who wants a permanent Railway operations job at Pay Level 6 and is comfortable with shift duty and transfers.
Who should think twice: This is a safety-critical post with a medical examination and an aptitude test, and competition is likely to be very high for about 1,250 seats, so it is not a good fit if you are not ready for rotating shifts.
Practical tip: Wait for the detailed CEN before you pay anything, because the age limit, fee and medical standard are all unconfirmed right now. When it is out, check the medical standard first, because failing the medical after clearing the CBT and CBAT wastes the whole process.
Documents Required
The source gives no document list. [check] Confirm it in the detailed notice. Expect to need:
- Graduation certificate and mark sheets
- Proof of date of birth
- Category certificate (SC/ST/OBC-NCL/EWS), where applicable
- Disability certificate, where applicable
- Ex-servicemen discharge certificate, where applicable
What Happens After Selection
The reports list Document Verification and a Medical Examination after the tests. [check] Training, probation and posting details are not given.
Important Links
| Link | URL |
|---|---|
| Apply Online (opens 27 October 2026) | https://www.rrbapply.gov.in/ |
| Official Website | https://www.rrbapply.gov.in/ |
The short notice PDF is on the official RRB sites. The Google Drive link in the source is not official, so it is not listed.
Common Questions
What is the last date to apply for RRB Station Master 2026?
25 November 2026, 11:59 PM. Applications open on 27 October 2026.
How many vacancies are there?
About 1,250, and the number is tentative.
Who can apply?
Graduates in any stream. The age limit and other rules are not confirmed until the detailed CEN is out.
What is the age limit?
Not confirmed. The source says 18 to 33, while two other sites say 20 to 30, counted as on 1 January 2027. [check] it in the detailed notice.
What is the selection process?
A Computer Based Test, a Computer Based Aptitude Test, Document Verification and a Medical Examination.
Is it part of RRB NTPC?
No. Station Master has its own notice, CEN 08/2026.
What is the salary?
Pay Level 6, starting at ₹35,400 per month basic pay, plus allowances.
Is this a permanent job?
Yes, it is a regular-basis post.
Browse every current Railway opening.
Before you apply — free tools
Common Questions
- What is the last date to apply for RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026 - 1250 Posts, Apply now?
- The last date to apply is 2026-11-25.
- Who is eligible to apply for RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026 - 1250 Posts, Apply now?
- Candidates with Any Graduate qualification are eligible, subject to age limit and other conditions in the official notification.
- How many vacancies are there in RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026 - 1250 Posts, Apply now?
- 1250 vacancies.